WTH? Birds don’t sing at 2 am

That’s what I was thinking when I woke up this morning. The plan was to wake up at 2 am, change and gather my stuff, then drive the 3+ hours to Sunriver to run the Pacific Crest Marathon. I made sure to have everything ready the night before: 6 gel packs, 2 500ml bottles of Powerade (not my favorite but whatever), my brand spanking new Obama singlet I had made, and a bunch of other stuff. I even made sure to clip my toenails. Then I realized that birds don’t sing at 2 am. So I looked at my phone, which is also my alarm clock, to see how much more sleep I had left… well, I got an extra 2.5 hours. It was 4:30. And way too late to get in the car, drive to Sunriver, pick up my bib, and make the 7:30 start time.

Oh well. That’s $75 wasted because I forgot that my alarm is set to only go off on the weekdays. But looking at the bright side… I would have spent more than that on gas. And I probably would have been miserable out there in the heat of central Oregon. And I would have been exhausted from the driving, the running, and the driving back. And it wasn’t like I was trying for a marathon streak of some sort (this is the only race I have planned until October). And it’s not like I need another race shirt or medal. So did I go back to bed? Nope. I went out and ran from my house to the Leif Erikson trail in Forest Park, 20.5 miles in all. I was supposed to do 26, but it was hot and I was getting dehydrated so I cut it short and rode the bus home. I’ll probably do another medium or long run tomorrow to make up for that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

