Eugene Marathon

I ran the Eugene Marathon on Sunday and finished at 3:32:08, a bit slower than I had hoped but still 3+ minutes faster than my previous PR. It was a good day weather-wise. The sun peeked out a bit more than I would have liked but the breezes and shade along the course kept things cool. The course was nice, flat, and mostly scenic. I’ll definitely keep this marathon on the calendar in the future.

I was hoping for a sub-3:30 time and to average sub-8:00/mile pace throughout the race, but I ran out of gas around mile 23. Up until then everything was fine, if not great. I was even thinking of hitting 3:20-3:25. I took all 3 of my planned gels (Clif Shots). I guess I just need more fuel during a marathon. But I don’t know, I just can’t stomach those things. I’m not sure what’s worse, losing my legs, so to speak, or running with that I’m-going-to-barf feeling in your gut. At the expo the day before we listened to Dathan Ritzenhein (a.k.a. “Ritz”) speak about training, racing, and making the US Olympic marathon team at the US Olympic trials earlier this year. He said he took in 7 gels that day. Holy cow! So that’s what it takes to 2:11.

1 Comment

Filed under Running

One response to “Eugene Marathon

  1. Pingback: Tacoma City Marathon « 57% No Concept

Leave a Reply

