The dangers of distance running

The best thread on the Marathoners Runners World forums I’ve seen in a long time…

Original post

cahoots, December 15, 2007, 10:45 AM

Why I put socks down my shorts

I ran the Honolulu Marathon last week and it was a terrible experience!

I was soaking wet right from the start. The tropical rain was incredible.

I used plenty of GLIDE in all the right places before I started the race. By the 3rd mile I could feel myself starting to chafe against my soaking wet (nike running) shorts. The tip of my penis was in trouble. I stopped at an aid station to apply vaseline, that worked for about thirty seconds, as you can imagine I was starting to worry.

At mile 5 I stopped at an ABC store and in a time induced panic I bought my own mini tub of vaseline and a pair of socks. I decided I would use a strategically placed sock to act as a barrier to prevent chaffing and apply more vaseline as needed.

The problem got slightly better with the socks acting as a prop keeping my shorts away from my unit but I couldnt really run at any pace with out trouble. For the next 21 miles I dealt with this issue. At one point I managed to get a latex glove from an aid station and I attempted to use it as a virtual condom. That failed terribly.

I should have quit and looking back, I wish I did. I finished an hour an a half off my goal, my penis was raw for three days (it is much better now) and the rest of my trip to hawaii was uncomfortable to say the least.

Has any one else had this problem? Is there a solution? I tried alot of different things on race day and nothing worked.

Reply #5

Creepy21, December 15, 2007, 12:56 PM

May sound weird, but are you a boxer or brief guy? I usually wear boxers, but go whitey tighty’s when running. Squished one of the kids once on my leg, (dont ask, please dont ask)so now i try to keeps things contained down there.

Reply #7

agarose2000, December 15, 2007, 06:48 PM

The most amazing thing about this thread is that every single person here has nodded their head knowingly and understandingly.

Imagine if you told this to a random bunch of folks on the corner of Times Square?

Good to have like-minded people here. All good suggestions above – compression shorts, practice practice practice (wear the same stuff you will on race day), and bodyglide are the way to go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

