Worst marathon ever

I ran the OC Marathon yesterday and it was my worst marathon experience ever. I finished in 4:25:18, slower than my previous worst by half an hour. Jesus H. Christ. The poor performance was no fault other than my own. I did everything wrong for this one. After the slew of October marathons and the cold, wet, cold, windy, and cold weather here in Portland, I pretty much stopped training thinking the residual effect of all that running in the fall would carry my through January. I was so cocky up until the start of the race that I told my parents to meet me at the finish line 15 minutes before the time we originally planned. I was so cocky I didn’t even do a pre-race stretch the night before or the morning of. In my defense though, the Santa Ana winds were pretty strong yesterday. And it was pretty warm too, mid-70s F warm. The course was also pretty darn boring and left you exposed to the sun for long stretches. The good news is with all the walking I did I’m not sore. Though I did end up with a quarter-sized blister at the ball of my foot.

IMG_0346.JPG

Strangely enough, even with the terrible race I finished faster than more than half of the other runners overall and in my division. Oh, and my brother and parents watched one of the other runners collapse and die after he crossed the finish line.

An Anaheim man who collapsed after crossing the finish line at the O.C. Marathon on Sunday has died, marathon officials confirmed today.

Larry Altneu, 45, finished the 26.2-mile race in four hours and 31 seconds before collapsing, marathon spokeswoman Peggy Fort said.

Altneu had been running with a pace group and had a goal of finishing within four hours.

“It’s so sad,” Fort said. “He finished the marathon in his goal time.

4 Comments

Filed under Running

4 responses to “Worst marathon ever

  1. Nicole

    Jesus! That’s pretty sad about that poor guy who kicked it. At least he finished the marathon though- talk about sticking something out all the way to the end! Ouch!

  2. Wow. That’s sad.

    The same thing happened in a bicycle race here in Oklahoma about three years ago. The guy made it to the finish line, then collapsed and died right there at the finish line.

  3. Pingback: digital-glamour

  4. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been
    tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

